How To Say Happy Kwanzaa? What Are the 7 Principles of Kwanzaa? 

If you were searching for how to express joyful Kwanzaa, then you are in the appropriate place. Kwanzaa is articulated as “kwahn-zuh,” and it originated from the Swahili phrase “matunda ya kwanza” which conveys the meaning of ‘First Fruits.’ 

The Chair of the Department of African Studies at California State University, Long Beach, Dr. Maulana Karenga, initiated the harvest festivals in Africa, and they take place in communities all around the world.

These festivals gained momentum during the Watts Riots in Los Angeles, California, in 1964, and were quite akin to the Black Freedom Movement. These festivals are not exclusive to or linked with any specific religious affiliation. 

Dr. Karenga appreciates the fact that the festival has been embraced by communities so they can come together and connect to celebrate the results of their collective labor. 

What are the seven days of Kwanzaa?

These days are considered principles that are dedicated to embodying seven communitarian values known as “Nguzo Saba.”

1. Umoja (Unity)

2. Kujichagulia (Self-determination)

3. Ujima (Collective Work and Responsibility)

4. Ujamaa (Cooperative Economics)

5. Nia (Purpose)

6. Kuumba (Creativity)

7. Imani (Faith)

Kelly Navies is an oral historian and museum specialist for the National Museum of African American History and Culture. She told a reliable source that Kwanzaa is a festival that commemorates African American celebration. 

She added this festival showcases the culture of the African diaspora and provides different communities an opportunity to exhibit their values and come together.

This festival’s holiday is not affiliated with any religion, enabling people to come closer to one another. 

How is Kwanzaa observed?

It has been affirmed that a family lights one of the seven candles that signify one of the seven fundamental values. The initial candle that is ignited is black and is positioned in the center of ‘Kinara’ (the candle holder).

Subsequently, the remaining candles are lit, commencing from left to right. The sequence signifies people (Black Candle), then the struggle, represented by the Red Candle, and then hope, symbolized by the Green Candle.

Quick FAQs

What are the three hues of the candles used in the Kwanzaa festival?

Black, Red, and Green.

What do the colors of this festival signify?

The order depicts (people) Black Candle, then the struggle, which is of Red Candle, and then hope, which is of Green Candle.

Rate article
Add a comment

  1. Guest

    The reader may find this text informative and helpful, especially if they are unfamiliar with Kwanzaa. It provides guidance on how to wish someone a happy Kwanzaa, which could be useful for those who want to acknowledge and respect the holiday. Additionally, the text mentions the seven principles of Kwanzaa, which could pique the reader’s interest and encourage them to learn more about the holiday’s cultural significance.